Google+

GirlieGirl Army picks “The Story of the Blue Planet”

September 11, 2013

GirlieGirl Army picks The Story of the Blue Planet for their “KIDS: Put these on your holiday list now!” recommendations.

“In the tradition of Roald Dahl and Maurice Sendak, Magnason’s story celebrates the ferity and fearlessness of childhood as an idealized state. . . . a Suessian mix of wonder, wit, and gravitas.”—Amanda Little, New York Times Book Review

The Story of the Blue Planet, by Andri Snaer Magnason, illustrated by Áslaug Jónsdóttir and translated by Julian Meldon D’Arcy is ‘worth your while,’ as GirlieGirl Army puts it because of its inspirational journey and beautiful told story.

Brimir and Hulda are best friends who live on a small island on a beautiful blue BluePlanetFrontCover_largeplanet where there are only children and no adults. Their planet is wild and at times dangerous, but everything is free, everyone is their friend, and each day is more exciting than the last.

One day a rocket ship piloted by a strange-looking adult named Gleesome Goodday crashes on the beach. His business card claims he is a “Dream.ComeTrueMaker and joybringer,” and he promises to make life a hundred times more fun with sun-activated flying powder and magic-coated skin so that no one ever has to bathe again. Goodday even nails the sun in the sky and creates a giant wolf to chase away the clouds so it can be playtime all the time. In exchange for these wonderful things, Goodday asks only for a little bit of the children’s youth—but what is youth compared to a lot more fun? The children are so enamored with their new games that they forget all the simple activities they used to love.

During Goodday’s great flying competition, Hulda and Brimir fly too high to the sun and soar to the other side of planet, where they discover it is dark all the time and the children are sickly and pale. Hulda and Brimir know that without their help, the pale children will die, but first they need to get back to their island and convince their friends that Gleesome Goodday is not all that he seems.

A fantastical adventure, beautifully told, unfolds in a deceptively simple tale. The Story of the Blue Planet will delight and challenge readers of all ages.

GirlieGirl Army is a website for glamorous people with green lifestyles. Their website has been featured in from The New York Times to Jimmy Kimmel, and has  300,000 monthly readers.

Some other great titles for the holidays include:

9781609805395_mediumEwert_10KDresses_medium Final Cover.indd 978-1-60980-420-6_medium

 

Tags: , , ,

Bookmark and Share

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events.