Posts tagged “holiday list”

  • GirlieGirl Army picks “The Story of the Blue Planet”

    September 11, 2013

    GirlieGirl Army picks The Story of the Blue Planet for their “KIDS: Put these on your holiday list now!” recommendations.

    “In the tradition of Roald Dahl and Maurice Sendak, Magnason’s story celebrates the ferity and fearlessness of childhood as an idealized state. . . . a Suessian mix of wonder, wit, and gravitas.”—Amanda Little, New York Times Book Review

    The Story of the Blue Planet, by Andri Snaer Magnason, illustrated by Áslaug Jónsdóttir and translated by Julian Meldon D’Arcy is ‘worth your while,’ as GirlieGirl Army puts it because of its inspirational journey and beautiful told story.

    Brimir and Hulda are best friends who live on a small island on a beautiful blue BluePlanetFrontCover_largeplanet where there are only children and no adults. Their planet is wild and at times dangerous, but everything is free, everyone is their friend, and each day is more exciting than the last.

    One day a rocket ship piloted by a strange-looking adult named Gleesome Goodday crashes on the beach.

    More Information »

    Tags: , , ,

    Bookmark and Share