Howard Zinn wins 2010 Ridenhour Prize for Courage

Howard Zinn wins 2010 Ridenhour Prize for Courage

March 16, 2010

Howard Zinn has been posthumously awarded the 2010 Ridenhour Prize for Courage, “presented to an individual in recognition of his or her courageous and life-long defense of the public interest and passionate commitment to social justice.” Past recipients have included Gloria Steinem, Bill Moyers, Daniel Ellsberg, and former President Jimmy Carter. From the Ridenhour website:

Howard Zinn is awarded The Ridenhour Courage Prize for his determination to showcase the hidden heroes of social movements throughout history, his refusal to accept the history of only the powerful and victorious, his steadfast belief in the potential for a better world, his unflinching moral stance on fighting whatever he perceived was wrong in society, his fight to inspire students to believe that together they could make democracy come alive, and, in the words of his former student Alice Walker, “his way with resistance.”

Again — forever — congratulations to Howard Zinn for his life and work.

Tags: , , ,

Bookmark and Share